Pull to refresh

Everything You Should Know in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023

Reading time4 min

Image Credit: amazonspreview.com

Cricket in India is more than just a game and for most of it is a matter of pride and unity. As we all have grown up playing cricket and everyone knows all about its rules and techniques that are quite interesting. Over the last few years, the Indian premier league is the latest and most renowned version of cricket that has 20 overs. Within a short span of time, it has become one of the best sports traditions in India. 

Day by day the fanbase of IPL is increasing and there are many IPL live streaming cricket apps, where you can enjoy IPL matches. 

In this article, we will count everything you should know about IPL 2023. 

IPL 2023

The IPL is a professional T20 cricket league in India that was first begun in 2007 by the Board of control for cricket in India, and in 2023, it will be the 16th season of the premier league. Basically, it is contested by ten teams and annually it is held in summer across India between March to May. 

So, here is the team of IPL 2023.

IPL 2023 Teams 

Here is the list of the total teams of IPL 2023 and its players. 

Team of IPL 2023

Team Players

Chennai Super Kings

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Devon Conway, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Ambati Rayudu, Dwaine Pretorius, Maheesh Theekshana, Prashant Solanki, Deepak Chahar, Mukesh Choudhary, Simarjeet Singh, Tushar Deshpande, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Mitchell Santner, Matheesha Pathirana, Subhranshu Senapati

Delhi Capitals

Rishabh Pant, David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Yash Dhull, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Mitchell Marsh, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi, Chetan Sakariya, Khaleel Ahmed, Praveen Dubey, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Vicky Ostwal, Aman Khan

Kolkata Knight Riders

Shreyas Iyer (captain), Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Anukul Roy, Rinku Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Faf du Plessis (Captain), Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Rajat Patidar, Anuj Rawat, Glenn Maxwell, David Willey, Wanindu Hasaranga, Shahbaz Ahmed, Suyash Prahhudessai, Harshal Patel, Siddharth Kaul, Mohammed Siraj, Josh Hazlewood and Karn Sharma

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer, Hrithik Shokeen, Kumar Kartikeya, Jason Behrendorff, Arjun Tendulkar, Arshad Khan, Akash Madhwal

Punjab Kings 

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Jonny Bairstow, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Shahrukh Khan, Liam Livingstone, Harpreet Brad, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Atharwa Tajde, Kagiso Rabada, Arshdeep Singh, Rahul Chahar, Nathan Ellis, Baltej Singh.

Rajasthan Royals

Sanju Samson (captain), Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shimron Hetmyer, Dhruv Jurel, Riyan Parag, Ravi Ashwin, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna, Obed McCoy, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav, Navdeep Saini, KC Cariappa

SunRisers Hyderabad

Rahul Tripathi, Glenn Phillips, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik, T Natarajan, Kartik Tyagi, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Lucknow Super Giants

KL Rahul (captain), Quinton de Kock, Manan Vohra, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Marcus Stoinis, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma, K Gowtham, Avesh Khan, Mohsin Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav

Gujarat Titans

Hardik Pandya (captain), Shubman Gill, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Pradeep Sangwan, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav, Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad

IPL 2023 Auction 

In the auction of IPL 2023,  collectively ten franchises have purchased 80 players by spending approximately 167 Cr. The auction was focused on purchasing all-rounders, and all-rounders were in high demand. In all this, English all-rounder player sam curran was the talk of the town and has become the most expensive player in the history of IPL and break all the previous records. 

Indian batsman Mayank Agarwal was purchased by Sunrisers Hyderabad for 8.25 Cr. Rs. Shivam Mavi became the most expensive bowler after purchasing for 6 Cr. Rs. 

The IPL auction is a great, exciting and enticing event that may change players' lives because players are auctioned. For this year, 991 players have registered, with 405 making the final list and in this, 273 were Indians, and 132 were foreigners. 

As we all know, players always look for a great betting platform where they can enjoy watching IPL and place their bets to earn money. So, if you are interested in launching your own betting app, then IPL betting app development cost and features you can consult with BR Softech. 

The Purse Remaining With Each Franchise

In the auction all 10 teams can collectively spend a whopping 174.3 Cr. INR and out of which, sunrisers Hyderabad have the biggest purchasing limit, and Kolkata knight riders have the smallest. Here, you can have a look at how much money each team has left in its purse. 


Remaining Purse

Chennai Super Kings 

₹20.45 Cr

Delhi Capitals

₹19.45 Cr

Gujarat Titans

₹19.25 Cr


₹7.05 Cr

Lucknow Super Giants

₹23.35 Cr

Mumbai Indians

₹20.55 Cr

Punjab Kings

₹32.2 Cr

Royal Challengers Bangalore

₹8.75 Cr

Rajasthan Royals

₹13.2 Cr


₹42.25 Cr

Before you go for IPL live Streaming cricket App, know below-given facts in order to enrich yourself with the information of IPL 2023.

Common Facts

  • There is no limit to keeping players for all teams according to the IPL 2023 retention rate. Each team can pay an additional 5 Cr. INR to retain any number of players. 

  • IPL auction was held on December 23, 2022, in Kochi. 

  • There are a total of 10 teams in IPL 2023.

  • All 10 teams can spend a cumulative amount of Rs 174.3 Cr. 

  • Live stream channels are Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi, Star Sports 1 Hindi HD, Star Sports 1 Telugu, Star Sports 1 Kannada, Star Sports 1 Tamil, and Star Sports 1 Bangla.

  • Live stream will be on Disney + Hotstar and Jio cinema. 

Final Word

This article helps you to understand all about the upcoming IPL 2023 and can enrich yourself with the latest information about IPL. due to broadcasting on a digital platform, its viewers are from worldwide and day by day its numbers are increasing. So, you can also go for cricket fantasy sports app development in order to make money. There is a huge demand for fantasy apps because most people nowadays watch cricket not only for entertainment but also to make money.